All winners of the 2023 Sundance Film Festival Awards

As part of its first in-person event in three years, the Sundance Film Festival announced its awards on Friday. AV Rockwell’s “A Thousand and One” won the Grand Jury Prize in the US Drama Competition, while Joe Brewster and Michèle Stephenson’s “Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project” won the Grand Jury Prize in the US Documentary Competition.

In the worldwide cinema competitions, Charlotte Regan’s “Scrapper” won the Grand Jury Dramatic Award, while Maite Alberdi’s “The Eternal Memory” won the Documentary Competition.

The Festival Favorite Award, chosen by the audience voters from feature films across all sections of the festival, went to Christopher Zallas’ Radical. Other Audience Awards went to Maryam Keshavarz’s The Persian Version for US Drama, Madeleine Gavin’s Beyond Utopia for US Documentary, Noora Niasari’s Shayda for World Cinema Drama and Mstyslav Chernov’s 20 Days in Mariupol for World Cinema Documentary.

In the Next section, both the audience award and the innovation award, presented by juror Madeleine Olnek, went to D. Smith’s “KOKOMO CITY”.

The jury for this year’s US drama competition consisted of actress Marlee Matlin, screenwriter and playwright Jeremy O. Harris and filmmaker Eliza Hittman. Other awards from the jury in this section included the Director’s Award to Sing J. Lee for The Accidental Getaway Driver, the Waldo Salt Screenplay Award to Keshavarz for The Persian Version, a Special Ensemble Award for Molly Gordon’s Theater Camp and Nick Lieberman,” a Creative Vision Award for Elijah Bynum’s Magazine Dreams and an Acting Award to Lío Mehiel for Vuk Lungulov-Klotz’s Mutt.

The jury of the US documentary film competition consisted of comedian and director W. Kamau Bell, filmmaker Ramona S. Diaz and editor Carla Gutiérrez. Other awards in the section went to Luke Lorentzen for directing A Still Small Voice, the Jonathan Oppenheim Editing Award to Daniela I. Quiroz for Going Varsity in Mariachi, a Clear Vision Award to Kristen Lovell and Zackary Drucker’s The Stroll” and a free speech award to Rebecca Landsberry-Baker’s “Bad Press”.

Other awards in the World Cinema section went to Marija Kavtaradze for “Slow” for directing, a Creative Vision Award to Sofia Alaouis “Animalia”, a Cinematography Award to Lílis Soares for CJ “Fiery” Obasis “Mami Wata” and a Performance Award to Rosa Marchant for “When It Melts” by Veerle Baetens.

In the World Cinema Documentary section, the Director’s Award went to Anna Hints for “Smoke Sauna Sisterhood”, further awards went to Axel Danielson and Maximilien Van Aertryck’s “Fantastic Machine” for creative vision and Sarvnik Kaur’s “Against the Tide” for vérité filmmaking. All winners of the 2023 Sundance Film Festival Awards

Sarah Ridley is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button