WASHINGTON residents may be able to receive one-time payments under the recently signed Working Families Tax Credit.
Nearly 400,000 residents are likely to receive up to $1,200 in direct payments.
For those who qualify, you must submit a separate application to the state.
This can be done once your tax return has been filed while the site is operational.
Washington Gov. Jay Inslee signed the bill into law to expand the tax credit in 2021.
Mr Inslee also said credit was created to help undocumented workers and those using an individual tax identification number to pay their taxes.
“Today’s launch marks a major step forward in the strides Washington has made in building an economy that works for all,” Gov. Jay Inslee said in a statement.
“In recent years, one of those efforts has included changing the state tax system to support the economic well-being of working families,” he added.
HOW TO APPLY?
To apply for the Working Family Tax Credit, visit the state’s website and verify your eligibility by answering three questions.
You definitely qualify if you have a valid Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN).
Also, you must have lived in Washington for at least 183 days in 2022 — more than half of the year.
Additionally, in 2022, you must be at least 25 and under 65 or have an eligible child.
You must also have filed a 2022 federal tax return.
If you are eligible, you will need the following documents:
- A copy of your federal tax return filed with the IRS
- Your social security number or ITIN and dates of birth for you, your spouse and children
- Your Washington state driver’s license or ID number – if you have one
- Your residential and postal address
- Your sort code and account number if you choose to deposit directly
An estimated 34,514 Connecticut employees will receive $1,500 in bonus checks as part of a $49.5 million package.
The amount of the payment is based on the hours worked and the “at risk” status associated with your job.
To be eligible, your income must have been less than $150,000.
Employees must also have worked from March 20, 2020 to March 27, 2021.
Just keep in mind that the $49.5 million award is not the same program as the state’s Premium Pay program.
Alaska also pays $3,284 out of its Permanent Fund Dividend (PFD).
The PFD is a payment that gives residents a portion of the state’s oil revenues.
Last year the amount was higher than others because residents also received a $662 energy relief check.
In addition to completing an application, you must have been an Alaskan resident throughout 2021.
They also must not have been convicted of a crime or imprisoned that year.
Check out our live blog all about direct payments.
Also, Americans can still file their taxes for free and avoid a minimum fine of $435.