Barcelona, Real Madrid, Bayern Which club do you join if you want to win the Ballon dOr

Robert Lewandowski is on a mission to win the Ballon d’Or, with the striker even going public by admitting he swapped Bayern Munich for Barcelona over the summer to boost his chances of eventually winning the prize to enhance.

Lewandowski spent eight hugely successful years in Germany and was positioned as the favorite to win the Ballon d’Or in 2020 after scoring 55 goals in 47 games on unprecedented form as Bayern trebled in the league, cup and Champions League reached. However, the striker was then cruelly deprived of his chance by the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, which led to the cancellation of the event.

The 34-year-old, who won back-to-back FIFA The Best men’s awards in 2020 and 2021 and also picked up the Forward of the Year 2021 award at the Ballon d’Or ceremony, signed for Barcelona for €45m this summer, saying , that his decision was at least partly influenced by a calculated conspiracy to improve his chances of finally getting his hands on the Ballon d’Or.

“I know Barcelona is the team where most players have won. I think Barca’s path is shorter than Bayern’s,” the Polish poacher told Marca.

In fact, stats show that Barcelona players have won European football’s most prestigious individual award more times than any other club – although of course those numbers are significantly skewed by the fact that Lionel Messi won them seven times during his stint at the Camp Nou between 2009 and 2021 .

However, with 11 goals in his first eight games for Barca already this season, it looks like Lewandowski is serious about chasing the Ballon d’Or that so cruelly eluded him two years ago.

Given that the Catalans have watched more than twice as many times as Bayern since the opening ceremony in 1956 (which was won by Sir Stanley Matthews, Blackpool’s sole prize-winner to date), the accolade has been handed to their players on his side .

– Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, MLS, more (USA)

Barcelona (13 Ballon d’Or winners, 6 different players)

More than half of Barca’s total Ballon d’Or wins have been amassed by one man: Messi has been responsible for the club’s last seven triumphs, taking first place in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019 and 2021 – that Year he left the club on a free transfer to Paris Saint-Germain.

Ahead of Messi’s run of dominance, the Catalans saw Ronaldinho (2005), Rivaldo (1999), Hristo Stoichkov (1994), Johan Cruyff (1973, 1974) and Luis Suarez (1960) win the award while wearing their iconic jersey Blaugrana stripes.

Real Madrid (11 winners, 7 players)

Given that Karim Benzema is the clear favorite for this year’s award, Real Madrid’s number is likely to rise to 12 in the near future, but until then they’ll stay at 11.

Luka Modric (2018) is Los Blancos‘ most recent winner, although no player has won more Ballon d’Ors for the Spanish giants than Cristiano Ronaldo (2013, 2014, 2016, 2017). Ronaldo has won the award five times in total, although the first of his triumphs came in 2008 during his first stint at Manchester United.

Even further back in the annals, Real Madrid credit Fabio Cannavaro (2008), Ronaldo Nazario (2002), Luis Figo (2000), Alfredo Di Stefano (1957, 1959) and Raymond Kopa (1958) for completing their impressive collection.

Juventus (8 winners, 6 players)

Juventus’ last Ballon d’Or win came back in 2003 when Czech maestro Pavel Nedved worked his way through to the trophy and narrowly passed Arsenal’s Thierry Henry in the race.

Before that, Zinedine Zidane (1998) and Roberto Baggio (1993) both won the award in the 1990s, while Michel Platini (1983, 1984, 1985) and Paolo Rossi (1982) ensured a flawless four-year win in the mid-90s. 80s

However, the Bianconeri‘s first Ballon d’Or was claimed back in 1961 when the great Omar Sivori accepted the honor after firing the club at the club scudetto for the third time in four years.

AC Milan (8 winners, 6 players)

While Milan are level with their Serie A peers, they only have to go back to 2007 to find their most recent Ballon d’Or winner in Kaka, who won the award three years after teammate and striker partner Andriy Shevchenko (2004). height.

That Rossoneri also won the award six times before 2000 thanks to George Weah (1995), Marco van Basten (1988, 1989, 1992), Ruud Gullit (1987) and Gianni Rivera (1969).



Don Hutchison and Jan Age Fjortoft believe Robert Lewandowski should have won the men’s Ballon d’Or.

Bayern Munich (5 wins, 3 players)

Although it never materialized due to circumstances beyond anyone’s control, Bayern should have seen their player lift the Ballon d’Or in 2020 – disrupting an impenetrable Barcelona-Real Madrid duopoly that had existed since 2009.

Lewandowski finished second in the vote behind Messi for the 2021 award, prompting the Argentine to congratulate his Polish contemporary during his acceptance speech.

“I would like to mention Robert, it was a real honor to compete against him. Everyone knows and we agree that last year you were the winner I think [award organisers] France Football should give you your 2020 Ballon d’Or, you deserve it,” said Messi from the podium.

Lewandowski wasn’t quite so polite afterwards. “I’m not that excited about receiving the 2020 award,” he told Polish outlet Kanale Sportowym. “I would like [Messi’s speech] to be a sincere and polite statement from a great player and not just empty words.”

With Lewandowski out in 2020, Bayern will have to go back to 1981 to find their most recent Ballon d’Or winner, with Karl-Heinz Rummenigge accepting the award for the second straight year. The German club dominated the scene throughout the previous decade, with the legendary Franz Beckenbauer (1972, 1976) and Gerd Müller (1970) completing the set.

Manchester United (4 wins, 4 players)

Ronaldo is the last Manchester United player to win the Ballon d’Or (2008) or even earn as much as a congratulatory nod in the top three of the poll.

David Beckham (runner-up, 1999) and Eric Cantona (third, 1993) both made it onto the podium within a decade, but United’s previous Ballon d’Or winner was George Best back in 1968. The best was the last of United’s famous ‘Holy Trinity” to receive the award, followed by Sir Bobby Charlton (1966) and Denis Law (1964). Barcelona, Real Madrid, Bayern Which club do you join if you want to win the Ballon dOr

Emma Bowman is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button