Technology

Google Hangouts is shutting down this fall

Hangouts Holdouts will finally say goodbye to Google’s most resilient chat app later this year. On Monday, the company would begin migrating consumer Hangouts users to Chat before the former becomes unavailable after November 2022. Starting today, if you’re still using Hangouts on mobile, you’ll be prompted to switch to either the standalone chat app or the chat experience in Gmail. “Hangouts has been replaced by Google Chat,” the company said in a statement.

As for Gmail, Google won’t be asking Hangouts users to make the switch until July. It will remain available through November, and the company says users have “at least” a month before the platform’s webpage automatically redirects to the chat site instead. If you’re still actively using Hangouts, Google promises your conversations will automatically transfer to the newer app. However, you can also use the company’s to download a copy of your data.

Google has been gradually phasing out the Hangouts brand in favor of its newer messaging services for some time, so it’s not surprising that the company has finally decided to retire the platform. And while it never enjoyed the popularity of some instant messaging apps, Hangouts has had its devoted fans.

All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team independently from our parent company. Some of our stories contain affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may receive an affiliate commission.

https://www.engadget.com/google-hangouts-shutting-down-november-2022-190051422.html?src=rss Google Hangouts is shutting down this fall

Russell Falcon

USTimesPost.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@ustimespost.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button