GOOGLE is warning users to check their accounts for old photos that could be permanently deleted as part of a big change next month.
The tech giant is shutting down a little-known album archive that could hold some precious memories you forgot even existed.
Google has sent out a warning email to users, letting them know they have until July 19th.
After that date, they will be gone forever.
“You’re receiving this email because you’ve recently viewed Album Archive or because there may be content visible in Album Archive,” the company says.
“From July 19, 2023, the album archive will no longer be available.
“We recommend using Google Takeout to download a copy of your album archive data beforehand.”
The hidden folder mainly contains Google Hangouts data, as well as content from Blogger and Picassa.
However, it may also include some thumbnail photos and album comments or likes.
You may also find wallpapers that you have uploaded for Gmail.
It’s worth searching for long-forgotten memories before it’s too late.
Under you can find out whether there are images stored there get.google.com/albumarchive.
Users turned to Google on social media, saying they were confused by the news.
“I love it when I get emails from Google saying they are retiring a service I had no idea existed,” someone said on Twitter.
“RIP, Google Album Archive,” commented another.
“Unfortunately we won’t miss you because I didn’t know you existed.”
The best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets
Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find these secret features in social media apps? We are here for you…
Get the latest WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadget stories here.
We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org