Haaland wins FWA Footballer of Year award by record margin

Manchester City striker Erling Haaland He won the prestigious Football Writers’ Association (FWA) Footballer of the Year award after an impressive debut season in England, it was announced on Friday.

Haaland, 22, won the award by a record margin, receiving 82% of the vote arsenal player Bukayo Saka And Martin Odegaardwho finished second and third respectively.

When can Manchester City win the Premier League?
Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, more (USA)

Elsewhere, Chelsea striker Sam Kerr became the first consecutive winner of the Women’s Footballer of the Year award. The Australia International received twice as many votes as AstonVilla‘S Rachel Dalywho finished second as Kerr’s teammate LaurenJames finished third.

Both strikers have played key roles at their clubs as both Manchester City and Chelsea look to defend the league title.

“To win the Football Writers’ Award in my first season in English football is an honour,” Haaland said in an interview opinion. “I try to do my best every day and this recognition means a lot to me.”

“I’ve enjoyed my time at City so far – my team-mates are incredible and they give me the chance to score goals. I want to thank them all because without them I could not have won this award.”

“I also owe Pep so much [Guardiola] and the team behind the team here at City. Ever since I joined, everyone has been so good to me and I have never worked with such top quality professionals.

“Thank you to everyone who voted for me. It is a real honor to have won this award. Now my focus is on making sure I finish the season as strong as I can and help City win trophies.”

Haaland is nowhere near matching Messi’s goalscoring record in a single season

Haaland has had a sensational debut season with him premier league Champion and has scored 51 goals in all competitions.

The Norwegian international broke the Premier League goals record in a single season He scored his 35th goal in a 3-0 win West Ham United last week.

Since his move, Haaland’s records at Etihad Stadium have been falling almost every week Borussia Dortmund last summer.

He has surpassed the previous record for most goals scored by a Premier League player in all competitions. His 51 goals far surpass Ruud van Nistelrooy’s 44 Manchester United in 2002-03 and Mohammed Salah in 2017-18.

However, Haaland still has a long way to go to surpass the record for most goals in England’s top flight. The legendary Dixie Dean scored 60 goals everton 1927-28.

The FWA confirmed that both Haaland and Kerr will receive their awards on May 25.

Emma Bowman

Emma Bowman is a USTimesPost U.S. News Reporter based in London. His focus is on U.S. politics and the environment. He has covered climate change extensively, as well as healthcare and crime. Emma Bowman joined USTimesPost in 2023 from the Daily Express and previously worked for Chemist and Druggist and the Jewish Chronicle. He is a graduate of Cambridge University. Languages: English. You can get in touch with me by emailing emma@ustimespost.com.

Related Articles

Back to top button