Henrik, Daniel Sedin join former Vancouver Canucks teammate Roberto Luongo in 2022 induction class for Hockey Hall of Fame

The Hockey Hall of Fame welcomed forwards Henrik and Daniel Sedin, forward Daniel Alfredsson and goaltender Roberto Luongo to their inaugural class of 2022, the Hall of Fame announced Monday.

Also in the class, in the builders category, were Finnish ice hockey icon Hanna-Riikka Sallinen and Herb Carnegie, a Canadian player of Jamaican descent who performed outside of the NHL. He is honored posthumously, having died in March 2012.

The Sedins and Luongo were teammates with the Vancouver Canucks and were in their first year of eligibility.

Henrik Sedin, a center, had 1,070 points and won the 2009-10 Hart Trophy as league MVP – earning the honor in a season when his twin brother Daniel was limited to 63 games due to injury. Henrik was the third center goalscorer during his 17-year NHL career, behind only Joe Thornton and Sidney Crosby.

Like his brother, Daniel Sedin had a career points-per-game average of .80. The winger has 1,041 points in 1,306 games. He was the goalscorer in that remarkable tandem, despite finishing only fourth among left wingers with 393 career goals. Daniel Sedin won the 2010-11 NHL scoring title with 104 points and won the Pearson Award for NHLPA Player of the Year. That season, he finished second in MVP voting to Anaheim Ducks winger Corey Perry.

“It’s not something you think about when you play hockey. But for us, we put our heads in and put our work in every day,” said Henrik Sedin. “We get the best out of our talent. That is what we are most proud of today.”

Selecting the Sedins for Hall of Fame is less about individual achievements and more about the magic they created as linemates for Vancouver. Drafted second (Daniel) and third (Henrik) overall by Vancouver in 1999, the duo often seemed to have an inherent awareness of where the other was on the ice at all times. “Ride like the Sedins” became synonymous with the way they controlled the puck in the offensive zone.

“We joke that they know what they’re going to do without ever looking at each other,” Alfredsson said of the Sedins.

Luongo played 1,044 games, finishing second all-time. He amassed 489 wins, good for fourth all-time, having played on significantly less successful teams than Martin Brodeur (691), Patrick Roy (551) and Marc-Andre Fleury (520) before him. Luongo also had a career save rate of .919 and 77 shutouts, both ninth-best of all time. He led Canada to Olympic gold in 2010 and has been a member of two IIHF World Championship teams. The only thing he doesn’t have is a Vezina Trophy for the NHL’s top goaltender, who was a three-time finalist.

While the Sedins played their entire careers with the Canucks, Luongo was drafted by the New York Islanders, played 572 games with the Florida Panthers and 448 with Vancouver.

Alfredsson has been inducted into the Hall of Fame since 2017. The winger played 1,178 games with the Ottawa Senators and 68 games in his senior year with the Detroit Red Wings. His 444 goals is 64th all-time and his 1,157 points is 55th. He won the Calder Trophy in 1995-96 and won Olympic gold with the Sedins in 2006 and silver in 2014. But he never won another individual award or the Stanley Cup.

Carnegie was a legendary player outside of the NHL. Hall of Famer Jean Beliveau of the Montreal Canadiens famously named him one of the best skaters he’s ever played with while both were semi-pro Quebec Aces. Herb Carnegie, his brother Ozzie and Manny McIntyre formed the first all-black hockey line and caused a sensation in Canada. He later founded Future ACES Hockey School, the first registered hockey school in Canada to teach hockey skills while emphasizing character development.

“I’m just totally overwhelmed by the whole thing. For years, people have worked so hard to get my father recognized,” said Herb’s daughter, Bernice Carnegie. “We cry or smile about it.”

The biggest surprise in the class is Hanna-Riikka Sallinen. The Finnish center is considered one of the greatest European players in the history of women’s hockey. Sallinen played a total of 11 seasons in the Naisten SM-sarja, the elite league in Finland, and was champion five times.

She won Olympic bronze with Finland in 1998 and 2019. At the Games in Pyeongchang, South Korea, her final Olympics, she became the oldest player of either gender to win a medal in ice hockey at the Olympics (age 44), overtaking compatriot Finn Teemu Selanne.

Notable nudges for the Hockey Hall of Fame class of 2022 included winger Alexander Mogilny, eligible since 2009; Team Canada forward Jennifer Botterill, eligible to play since 2014; defender Sergei Gonchar, eligible to play since 2018; Team Canada forward Caroline Ouellette, who was eligible for the first time; and Team USA forward Meghan Duggan, also a freshman-eligible player.

Despite the rules requiring it, the Hall of Fame has only once inducted two players into the same class since 2010.

https://www.espn.com/nhl/story/_/id/34157814/henrik-daniel-sedin-join-former-vancouver-canucks-teammate-roberto-luongo-2022-induction-class-hockey-hall-fame Henrik, Daniel Sedin join former Vancouver Canucks teammate Roberto Luongo in 2022 induction class for Hockey Hall of Fame

Emma Bowman

USTimesPost.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@ustimespost.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button