How to Delete Your Facebook Account on Android

Facebook can be a big time-waster. One way to take control of your time is to use the digital wellbeing tools available on Android to set timers for the Facebook app. But if that doesn’t work, another option is to delete your Facebook account.

Here’s how to delete Facebook account on Android phone.

What is the difference between deactivating and deleting your Facebook account?

Facebook gives you two options if you want to spend less time using the platform. You can deactivate your account or delete it. They are not the same. Deactivating your Facebook account means you can still log in whenever you want.

If you deactivate your account, people won’t be able to find you on Facebook because your profile will be disabled. Additionally, Facebook will deactivate any of your Pages if you are the only admin.

Also, while your name and photo will be deleted, not all information will be hidden. For example, messages you’ve sent and your name in a person’s Friends list will still be visible. Furthermore, your personal data such as posts, photos and videos will remain intact.

On the other hand, deleting an account is when you want to leave Facebook. Instead of going through the arduous process of deleting your Facebook posts and other data, account deletion does it in a single step. However, if you change your mind later and want to go back, you’ll have to create a new account. Also, if you run a site as the sole administrator, that page will also be deleted.

MAKE A VIDEO OF THE DAY

What to do before deleting your Facebook account

Deleting your Facebook account will delete your profile from the company’s servers. With that in mind, you need to do a few things before hitting the Delete button. The first thing you should do is download your data.

If you have been regularly using Facebook for a long time, you probably have a lot of personal data on the platform like messages, Stories, photos, videos, etc. The good news is that you can download the whole thing. your Facebook history using the platform’s data downloader.

Once you have a copy of your Facebook data, the next step is to check which third-party apps are associated with your account. Since these apps use your Facebook login to sign you in, you need another way to access your account. You can check which apps are associated with your Facebook account on Android with these steps:

  1. Tap the hamburger menu (three horizontal lines) in the top right.
  2. Scroll down and select Settings and Privacy.
  3. Next, tap Setting and scroll down Permission section.
  4. Here, press Apps and Websites to see all the services connected to your account.

Next, you should add your email and password as your login option to each of these connected services to avoid losing access to your account.

How to delete your Facebook account on mobile

After completing the two main steps above, you can safely delete your Facebook account. Deleting a Facebook account on Android is very simple. Here’s how to do it:

  1. Tap the hamburger menu in the top right.
  2. Scroll down and go to Settings & Privacy > Settings.
  3. Under Account section, select Personal and Account Information.
  4. Next, tap Account Ownership and Control > Deactivation and Deletion.
  5. Selection Delete the accountthen tap Continue deleting accounts button.
  6. First, choose your reason for deletion or tap Continue deleting accounts skip.
  7. The delete account page will show you what you will lose if you delete your account. Read carefully to make sure you’re ok with that, then press Delete the account.
  8. Enter your Facebook password and select Continue > Delete account end.

Facebook will schedule deletion of your account and email you. The platform gives you a grace period of 30 days, during which you can log in, thus canceling the scheduled deletion.

Don’t log in for the next 30 days if you’re done using Facebook. Even so, Facebook says it can take up to 90 days from the date the deletion process begins to permanently delete all the information you’ve shared. However, don’t fret; Your information will not be accessible to other users during the whole process.

Once you have deleted your Facebook account, the next step is to uninstall the app. Here is a step-by-step guide on how to remove unwanted Android apps.

How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account on Android

If the risk that comes with deleting your Facebook account isn’t worth it, here’s how to deactivate it instead:

  1. Tap the hamburger menu in the top right.
  2. Scroll down and go to Settings & Privacy > Settings.
  3. Selection Personal and Account Information> Account Ownership and Control.
  4. Clap Deactivate and deletethen choose Account Deactivation> Continue to Account Deactivation.
  5. Enter your Facebook password, then press There’s more. Next, select the reason for the deactivation and press There’s more. Facebook will show you different information on the next page, depending on your reason.
  6. Selection Continue > Deactivate my account end.

You will immediately be signed out. You can reactivate your account by logging in again.

Ditch Facebook Forever

Facebook is one of the most popular social media platforms. However, you can give up the platform for good by deleting your account instead of getting caught up in the company’s endless privacy and security issues. Deleting your Facebook account on Android is very simple if you follow the steps outlined above.

But before you do so, you should download your history and add different login methods for apps and websites that use your Facebook credentials. You can also temporarily deactivate your account if you want to come back later.


Mobile phone showing twitter logo on blue background

How to delete your Twitter account for good

Continue reading


https://www.makeuseof.com/delete-facebook-on-android/ How to Delete Your Facebook Account on Android

Sarah Ridley

USTimesPost.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@ustimespost.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button