So you think you’ve been blocked on WhatsApp?
It’s not always easy to say, and you shouldn’t be too quick to jump to that conclusion — but there are a few pointers to look out for.
However, it’s important to remember that a friend or family member might be going through a busy time right now, and just because they can be online doesn’t mean they always have to be.
And remember, if you’ve been blocked, it could be for a good reason.
Ask yourself why you might have been blocked and whether you need to do something about your own behavior.
How to know if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp
The meta-owned messaging platform WhatsApp has become an important part of our lives, offering an easy way to call and message people around the world for free.
It is now used by a staggering 2 billion people worldwide.
Of course, it is important to stay alert and know the warning signs of an in-app scam.
It’s easy to be fooled online.
With all the dangers of the digital sphere, important platforms such as WhatsApp offer the possibility of blocking people. But what if you think this happened to you?
There is no direct way to check if you have been blocked on WhatsApp and you will not receive a notification if you are.
When this happens, you will no longer be able to see the contact’s “Last Seen” indicator or online status in the chat window.
There could be other reasons for this, so it doesn’t necessarily mean you’ve been blocked.
Last year WhatsApp introduced a way for users to hide this status from everyone, not just people who blocked them.
If you send messages to someone who has blocked you, they’ll be marked as sent but not delivered, and any calls you’ve made will not go through.
But be careful – the cause can also be that a person simply does not have an internet connection.
However, it’s an easy way to compare the status of your sent message with someone else who has also sent a message to the contact.
Of course, it’s possible that you’ve both been blocked. In this case, you cannot see it.
It’s also worth considering why the person might have blocked you in the first place.
If you have harassed or abused someone, you should stop contacting them.
You can report harassment, malicious messages, or the dissemination of private sexual images without consent online or by calling the police on 101.
If you want to block someone on WhatsApp, all you have to do is follow these simple steps:
- Open the WhatsApp chat with the contact you want to block.
- Then click on the name at the top of the chat.
- Scroll down and you should have the option to do so block or report them.
- Select this and then select block.
This is also possible with unknown numbers.
A blocked contact can’t message or call you on WhatsApp.
What does it mean when someone’s picture disappears on WhatsApp?
If you are blocked, you will no longer be able to see their profile picture.
However, this could simply mean that they have removed their picture and currently do not have one.
It could also be due to a problem with the WiFi connection.
This also happens if the contact has changed their privacy settings to ‘Nobody’ or if you have changed your last seen privacy settings to ‘Nobody’.