How to Move Files From One Google Drive Account to Another

Want to move files between Google Drive accounts without downloading and re-downloading them? Find out how you can do it!

Google Drive offers 15GB of free storage. It sounds like a lot, but remember that this space is shared by your files on Google Drive, Gmail, and Google Photos. So when you run out of space on one of your Drive accounts, you can transfer files to another account.

Most of us have multiple Google Drive accounts, but Google has yet to give us an easy way to seamlessly transfer files from one Google Drive to another. You must rely on a solution to move files from one account to another.

How to transfer files between Google Drive accounts

If you want to move files from one account to another without downloading and re-uploading them, here’s what you have to do. However, if you are more worried about how to transfer files from computer to phone, check out this list of fastest file transfer methods between PC and mobile device.

1. Share documents with your other Google Drive account

If you only want to transfer one document, you can do a one-time share to your other account. It doesn’t require much setup and is very easy to implement.

  1. Open your main Google Drive account.
  2. Locate the files or folders you want to transfer to your secondary Google Drive account.
  3. Right click on the file or folder and select Repost.

  4. Enter your secondary Google username. Click High level. Under Sharing settingschange permission to As the owner. Hit blue Send button.
  5. Sign in to your secondary Google Drive account. Click Share with me Filter on the left sidebar to quickly locate shared folders.
  6. Google Drive won’t let you make copies of a folder, but you can make copies of the files within it and then move them into a new folder or subfolder to duplicate the original’s hierarchy. .
  7. Right click on each file (or select all) and click Make a copy. Rename the files appropriately and move them to a new folder.
  8. Go back to the main account and delete the root folder from your drive and also in its bin.

MAKE A VIDEO OF THE DAY

You can also use Google Takeout to transfer your entire data archive to another account.

2. Create a “Transfer Folder” in Google Drive

The above trick is great if you want a one-time transfer from one account to another. However, if you feel like transferring more in the future, you can create a folder that automatically shares the files placed in it between your Google accounts.

  1. First, create a new folder in Google Drive. You can do this by clicking New in the top left, then click Folder.

  2. Share the folder with your destination account. You can do this the same way you shared files in the tutorial above.
  3. Drag the file you want to share with your other account into this folder.
  4. Google Drive will display a message asking if you want to “change who has access”. This warns you that, by moving your document into another folder, you will share it with other accounts that have access to said folder. This is exactly what you want to do, so click Move.
  5. Sign in to your other account, access your shared folder, and drag or move the files inside to wherever you want.


Move your files easier with Google Drive

If you want to transfer files from one of your Google Drive accounts to another, you don’t need to download and upload them again. By sharing files yourself or creating a central shared folder, you can quickly get your documents where they’re needed.

If you’re looking for other ways to get more out of your Google Drive, there are plenty of tools out there that can help. Services like You Need a Wiki and Glide are great for adding extra functionality to your Google cloud storage.


Google Drive Tools

5 Google Drive tools for better documents, spreadsheets, slides, etc

Continue reading


About the author

https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/transfer-files-google-drive-accounts/ How to Move Files From One Google Drive Account to Another

Sarah Ridley

USTimesPost.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@ustimespost.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button