How to watch every Women’s World Cup match on TV

Steph Catley’s penalty gave co-hosts Australia a narrow win over the Republic of Ireland in front of a record-breaking home crowd after captain Sam Kerr missed the first two games of the Women’s World Cup through injury.

Catley took Kerr’s armband after the star striker was sidelined with a calf injury he sustained in training the day before the tournament, and the substitute captain converted a second-half penalty to give Australia a winning start to secure the season World Cup in front of over 75,000 fans at the Sydney Olympic Stadium.

Earlier, co-hosts New Zealand celebrated their first ever World Cup win on their 16th attempt when Hannah Wilkinson’s goal shocked group favorites Norway at a packed Eden Park. It was also a record attendance for New Zealand, male or female, with over 45,000 spectators in attendance to celebrate a historic win at the tournament.

Here’s everything you need to know to follow the Women’s World Cup.

How can I watch the Women’s World Cup?

For UK viewers, every match will be available on the BBC and ITV.

The BBC will have live coverage on television and the BBC Sport website, with live audio commentary available on BBC Radio 5 Live, 5 Sports Extra and the BBC Sounds app.

For ITV, live coverage will be available both on television and online through ITVX.

At the moment, the BBC and ITV have only announced the group stage schedule, although the BBC has said it will broadcast both semi-finals and the final on both channels.

When can I watch England?

England play their first game of the World Cup against Haiti in Group D on July 22. The game starts at 10:30am BST and will be shown on ITV.

England will play Denmark on July 28th. Kick-off is at 9:30am BST. The game will be broadcast on the BBC.

England’s last game of the group stage is against China on Tuesday 1 August and will be broadcast on ITV. Game starts at 12pm BST.

Should England reach the Round of 16, the game will be broadcast live on the BBC.

Full TV schedule for the group stage

(All kick-off times BST)

Thursday, July 20th

Group A: New Zealand 1-0 Norway (08:00, Auckland) – BBC One

Group B: Australia 1-0 Republic of Ireland (11am, Sydney)-ITV 1

Friday 21st July

Group B: Nigeria vs Canada (03:30, Melbourne) – BBC Two

Group A: Philippines vs Switzerland (06:00, Dunedin) – ITV 1

Group C: Spain vs Costa Rica (08:30, Wellington) – BBC Two

Saturday 22nd July

Group E: USA vs Vietnam (02:00, Auckland) – BBC

Group C: Zambia vs. Japan (08:00 Hamilton) – BBC

Group D: England v Haiti (10:30, Brisbane) – ITV

Group D: Denmark vs. China (13:00, Perth) – BBC

Sunday 23 July

Group G: Sweden v South Africa (06:00, Wellington) – BBC

Group E: Netherlands vs Portugal (08:30, Dunedin) – BBC

Group F: France v Jamaica (11:00, Sydney) – ITV

Monday 24th July

Group G: Italy vs Argentina (07:00, Auckland) – ITV

Group H: Germany vs Morocco (09:30, Melbourne) – ITV

Group F: Brazil v Panama (12:00, Adelaide) – ITV

Tuesday, July 25th

Group H: Colombia vs Korea Republic (03:00, Sydney) – BBC

Group A: New Zealand vs Philippines (06:30, Dunedin) – ITV

Group A: Switzerland vs Norway (09:00, Hamilton) – ITV

Wednesday July 26th

Group C: Japan vs Costa Rica (06:00, Dunedin) – ITV

Group C: Spain vs Zambia (08:30, Auckland) – BBC

Group B: Canada vs Republic of Ireland (13:00, Perth) – ITV

Thursday 27 July

Group E: USA vs Netherlands (02:00, Wellington) – BBC

Group E: Portugal vs Vietnam (08:30, Hamilton) – ITV

Group B: Australia vs Nigeria (11:00, Brisbane) – BBC

Friday 28 July

Group G: Argentina vs South Africa (01:00, Dunedin) – ITV

Group D: England vs Denmark (09:30, Sydney) – BBC

Group D: China v Haiti (12:00, Adelaide) – ITV

Saturday 29th July

Group G: Sweden v Italy (8.30am, Wellington) – BBC

Group F: France v Brazil (11:00, Brisbane) – BBC

Group F: Panama vs Jamaica (13:30, Perth) – ITV

Sunday 30 July

Group H: Korea Republic vs Morocco (05:30, Adelaide) – BBC

Group A: Norway vs Philippines (08:00, Auckland) – BBC

Group A: Switzerland vs. New Zealand (08:00, Dunedin) – BBC

Group H: Germany vs Colombia (10:30, Sydney) – ITV

Monday 31 July

Group C: Costa Rica v Zambia (08:00, Hamilton) – ITV

Group C: Japan v Spain (08:00, Wellington) – ITV

Group B: Ireland vs Nigeria (11:00, Brisbane) – BBC

Group B: Canada vs Australia (11:00, Melbourne) – BBC

Tuesday, August 1st

Group E: Vietnam vs Netherlands (08:00, Dunedin) – ITV

Group E: Portugal vs USA (08:00, Auckland) – ITV

Group D: Haiti vs Denmark (12:00, Perth) – ITV

Group D: China v England (12pm, Adelaide) – ITV

Wednesday, August 2nd

Group G: South Africa v Italy (08:00, Wellington) – BBC

Group G: Argentina vs Sweden (08:00, Hamilton) – BBC

Group F: Jamaica v Brazil (11:00, Melbourne) – ITV

Group F: Panama v France (11:00, Sydney) – ITV

Thursday, August 3rd

Group H: Korea Republic v Germany (11:00, Brisbane) – BBC

Group H: Morocco vs Colombia (11:00, Perth) – BBC

Zack Zwiezen

Zack Zwiezen is a USTimesPost U.S. News Reporter based in London. His focus is on U.S. politics and the environment. He has covered climate change extensively, as well as healthcare and crime. Zack Zwiezen joined USTimesPost in 2023 from the Daily Express and previously worked for Chemist and Druggist and the Jewish Chronicle. He is a graduate of Cambridge University. Languages: English. You can get in touch with me by emailing

Related Articles

Back to top button