FANS of Google Photos will soon be able to backup the hidden photos in their locked folder thanks to a new free upgrade.
Google had previously only allowed the locked folder to exist offline, meaning it couldn’t be transferred to a Wi-Fi-connected cloud for backup.
It made sense to address privacy concerns.
Google Photos first introduced the Locked Folders feature in 2022 to give users a special place for private photos.
Ultimately, however, this meant that if the device was lost or reset, or even if Google Photo’s app data was deleted, these sensitive images and memories would be lost forever.
The decision to bring the locked folder online was made months ago.
However, the upgrade is just about to roll out for Android and iPhone users.
According to Android Police, users will see a pop-up prompt in the Google Photos app giving them the option to back up the folder.
If you select Enable Backup, your photos from locked folders will be uploaded to the cloud.
This makes them accessible from any device you can access your Google Photos on – and prevents them from being accidentally deleted.
Most read in “Phones and Gadgets.”
The function is only optional.
So users who aren’t interested in uploading sensitive photos to the cloud don’t have to deal with the pop-up.
If you tap Not Now, the contents of the locked folder will remain offline.
But even if the images are uploaded to the cloud, they remain hidden behind your device’s password or your Google login on a desktop.
The best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets
Are you looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find these secret features in social media apps? We are here for you…
Get the latest WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadget stories here.
We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at email@example.com