MLB teams to play all 29 opponents under ’23 balanced sked

Each major league team will play each other for the first time in the same season next year as the sport moves to its first balanced schedule since 2000.

NEW YORK (AP) – Each major league team will play each other for the first time in the same season next year as the sport moves to its first balanced schedule since 2000.

As a result of the format change agreed in March, high-profile games between division rivals including the Yankees-Red Sox, Dodgers-Giants and Cubs-Cardinals will be reduced from 19. Intradivision games are reduced from 47% to 32%.

At least every two seasons, one team hosts all the other 29 clubs.

“I think it’s great for the fans,” said Mets manager Buck Showalter. “I’m so tired of playing the same people over and over again.”

Major League Baseball said Wednesday it will open the 2023 season on March 30 and will again attempt to have every team start on the same day, which last happened in 1968.

A team plays 13 games against each division rival for a total of 52, and six or seven against every other club in its league for a total of 64. The remaining 46 games are played against interleague opponents: one home and one two-game away series, a so-called natural rival and a single three-game series against each of the 14 other clubs in the opposing league.

“This new format creates more common opponents, both in the division and among your league opponents, so there’s usually a much higher percentage of common opponents across divisions when you’re fighting for the wild card,” MLB chief Chris Marinak said Operations and Strategy Officer. “And we think justice is good for competition on the field.

“On the marketing side, we believe that the new schedule will offer our fans more home opponents, so they can see a wider variety of clubs in their stadium,” Marinak said. “And probably more importantly, it gives us an opportunity for our star players to become better known nationally and be seen in more places throughout the season.”

The American League used a balanced schedule from 1977–2000 and the National League from 1993–2000, with interleague play beginning in 1997 and limited to 15–18 games per season for each team. Then-Commissioner Bud Selig had pushed for a return to an unbalanced schedule.

AL openers are Baltimore in Boston, Chicago White Sox in Houston, Minnesota in Kansas City, Los Angeles Angels in Oakland, Cleveland in Seattle and Detroit in Tampa Bay.

NL openers are Milwaukee with the Chicago Cubs, Pittsburgh with Cincinnati, Arizona with the Los Angeles Dodgers, the New York Mets with Miami, Colorado with San Diego and Atlanta with Washington.

Interleague openings have San Francisco with the New York Yankees, Toronto with St. Louis, and Philadelphia with Texas.

Other home games include the Giants at the White Sox and the Mets at Milwaukee on April 3; San Diego in Atlanta, the Dodgers in Arizona, the Yankees in Baltimore, Boston in Detroit, Houston in Minnesota, Miami with the Mets and Cincinnati in Philadelphia on April 6 and Seattle in Cleveland, Washington in Colorado, Toronto with the Angels, the White Sox in Pittsburgh and Kansas City in San Francisco on April 7th.

Toronto will start with 10 away games before hosting Detroit on April 11, a request from the Blue Jays over construction work at the Rogers Centre.

The schedule is usually updated with game times during the winter.

Next year’s start is the earliest since 2019. The season will be rolled back to 186 days from the 182 days it had been cut to this year due to lockdown.

Natural rivalries between leagues include Mets-Yankees, Cubs-White Sox, Dodgers-Angels, Giants-Athletics, Reds-Indians, Marlins-Rays, Orioles-Nationals, Royals-Cardinals, and Brewers-Twins.

Among teams with no geographic interleague rivals, MLB paired Red Sox-Braves, Pirates-Tigers, Phillies-Blue Jays, Rangers-Diamondbacks, Astros-Rockies, and Padres-Mariners.

Traveling approximates the previous format, with teams playing 76 games against division opponents, 66 against other clubs in the league (seven versus six teams and six versus four teams), and 20 interleagues.

“The biggest part of what drives your travel is the number of trips you take, and that doesn’t change the number of trips,” said Chuck Torres, MLB’s senior director of planning and broadcasting.

Except within its own division, a team may receive or visit a maximum of three teams from another division.

To combat the exhaustion, each team had seven days off in their last 67 days, three in their last 32 and one in their last 10.

MLB has attempted to have all 30 clubs play on the same opening day in four of the last five seasons.

Pittsburgh in Detroit and Washington in Cincinnati were in the rain in 2018. In 2019, Seattle and Oakland started ahead of other teams with a two-game streak in Tokyo.

In 2020, the start of the season was pushed back to July 23 because of the pandemic, and the only game on opening night was the Yankees in Washington. In 2021, the Mets’ Washington game and the Baltimore’s Boston game were postponed.

This year’s launch was pushed back from March 31 to April 7 due to the 99-day lockdown that ended on March 10, and only seven games were scheduled for the opening day.

Each team plays on Jackie Robinson Day, April 15, which falls on a Saturday.

The All-Star Game will be held at T-Mobile Park in Seattle on July 11, eight days before this year’s game at Dodger Stadium. The ballpark, then called Safeco Field, was the site of the 2001 All-Star Game.

No games are scheduled for the two days following the All-Star Game, creating a four-day hiatus and the second half beginning July 14. The regular season ends on October 1st.

There are two day-night doubleheaders: the Padres in Philadelphia on July 16 and the Dodgers in Colorado on September 26. This year’s original schedule had a doubleheader, but 30 twinbills were added in the revisions that caused the lockout.

The Cubs and Cardinals play a two-game series June 24-25 at London’s Olympic Stadium, and the Phillies and Nationals play the Little League Classic in Williamsport, Pennsylvania on August 20. MLB teams to play all 29 opponents under ’23 balanced sked

Emma Bowman is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button