Netflix moochers can finally transfer their profile to a new account

Netflix makes it easier to boot moochers out of your account while still sticking to their viewing preferences. So, if you’re fed up with an ex continuing to use your account, you can send them their recommendations, viewing history, saved tracks in My List, game scores, subtitle appearance, and other settings if they open their own account on their way Account. That’s assuming you ended things on good terms anyway – you might still want to kick them out without warning.

The feature will roll out to all users starting Monday after Netflix first tested it in Chile, Costa Rica and Peru. Profile transfers are automatically enabled in all countries except South Korea and the United States. You have to activate it in your settings in these two nations.

You will receive an email when the profile transfer tool is available for your account. After that, you can access the “Transfer Profile” option from the drop-down menu that appears when you hover over your profile icon on the home page. From there you need to follow the instructions to set up a new account. It’s not clear if you can transfer your profile to an existing account. Engadget has asked Netflix for clarification.

Netflix profile transfer process

Netflix

According to Netflix, this is a long-awaited feature, and the company pitches it as a helpful option for those going through some life changes, such as getting married. B. the end of a relationship or someone moving away from their parent’s account to open a new one with profiles for all their family members. However, Netflix is ​​also trying to crack down on password sharing.

In August, it started charging users in five Latin American countries more if they permanently share their accounts with people who live outside of their primary residence. This came after a dry run in Chile, Costa Rica, and Peru, suggesting that account-sharing fees may apply to more territories after profile transfers are rolled out more widely. We may soon hear about people being kicked out of Netflix accounts because their friends or parents no longer want to pay.

Netflix is ​​taking account sharing more seriously, especially given that total subscribers fell for the first time this year. She lost around 1.2 million in the first six months of 2022.

However, if you suddenly find that you have to pay for your own Netflix account, you’ll soon have the option to transfer your profile to a cheaper, ad-supported plan. This tier will be available starting November 3rd. It costs $7 per month but doesn’t include access to the full Netflix library or offline viewing.

All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team independently from our parent company. Some of our stories contain affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may receive an affiliate commission. All prices are correct at time of publication.

https://www.engadget.com/netflix-profile-transfer-roll-out-182905850.html?src=rss Netflix moochers can finally transfer their profile to a new account

Russell Falcon

USTimesPost.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@ustimespost.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button