Netflix will begin charging ‘extra user’ fees early next year

We all knew it was coming. The next phase of Netflix’s month-long crackdown on password sharing – which itself follows the company’s first quarterly subscriber drop in a decade – is upon us. The company announced during its quarterly conference call on Tuesday that it will start charging customers an additional monthly fee from people who share their credentials, starting in early 2023.

This move is an extension of a pilot program currently underway in Latin America that charges additional fees for “additional user” sub-accounts, users outside of your immediate household who use your login to access the Service. Basically, each entry on the Who’s Watching? Screen will cost you extra money if they don’t live with you too.

Netflix hasn’t revealed pricing for the penalty fees yet, but if they follow the pilot program’s “one-fourth base rate” scheme, it should total around $3 to $4. For people wanting to avoid those fees, Netflix on Monday unveiled an account migration tool that transfers a user’s sub-account data (viewing history, recommendations, and the like) to their new, standalone subscription.

Additionally, the company recently announced a cheaper ad-supported tier that will cost $7 per month when it launches on November 3rd. The new tier will be available in a dozen countries including the UK, Canada and Mexico by November 10th.

All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team independently from our parent company. Some of our stories contain affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may receive an affiliate commission. All prices are correct at time of publication.

https://www.engadget.com/netflix-will-begin-charging-extra-user-fees-early-next-year-221450520.html?src=rss Netflix will begin charging ‘extra user’ fees early next year

Russell Falcon

USTimesPost.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@ustimespost.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button