Our bargain honeymoon turned into a holiday from hell – we were given one cup to drink from and cleaned our own toilet

A COUPLE who booked a budget honeymoon in Spain ended up having to scrub their ‘dirty bathroom’ and given a plastic cup for all their drinks.

Magdalena Brylinska-Beaton, 36, and her husband Andrew Beaton, 37, were looking forward to their first couple’s holiday in eight years after tying the knot in August 2021 and being unable to go on their honeymoon.

Magdalena Brylinska-Beaton, 36, and her husband Andrew Beaton, 37


Magdalena Brylinska-Beaton, 36, and her husband Andrew Beaton, 37
The couple had to clean their apartment "dirty bathroom"


The couple had to clean their “dirty bathroom.”
You got a plastic cup for all drinks


You got a plastic cup for all drinks

But the romantic dream in the Sun Club El Dorado on Mallorca turned into a “holiday nightmare”.

The Inverness couple, who booked the great-value two-star holiday through Loveholidays, decided to switch hotels five days early, comparing their experience to appearing on the TV series ‘I’m A Celebrity’.

Magdalena, a busboy and health worker, said she “learned her lesson” that a cheap booking was a “disaster” and would never fall below four stars again, even if it proved expensive.

“It was supposed to be our mini honeymoon because we got married in times of Covid so we never went anywhere,” Magdalena told PA Real Life.

My vacation was hell after sleeping in an insect infested bed that left me covered in bites
When we arrived we experienced a vacation nightmare and found that Airbnb was already rented

“We were really looking forward to it, but it was a holiday nightmare.

“We practically flushed our money down the toilet.”

Magdalena spent several days searching the internet for an affordable beach holiday before settling on Sun Club El Dorado in the ‘picturesque’ resort of Puig de Ross, Mallorca.

“There were bad reviews, but there were also good reviews saying ‘Not as bad as people say,'” she said.

“In total we paid around £860 including transfer and extra luggage.

“The hotel was said to be basic, but that wasn’t a problem for us as long as it was clean because we wanted to go out and explore anyway.”

There were warning signs from the moment the couple landed in Palma on May 15, but exhausted from the day’s journey, they ignored it.

Magdalena said: “We went to the transfer desk and the driver asked where we were staying.

“He said ‘Oh Sun Club Eldorado’ and then started laughing.

“That was the first thing I should have picked up.”

Next, they were given two colorful plastic cups at check-in and asked to show them at the bar whenever they wanted to order a drink.

She said: “The first night I went into the bar and asked for a sangria and the guy said, ‘Where’s your cup?’ You must have been given cups when you arrived?’

“I thought you were joking.

“They expected us to use the same cups for coffee the next morning – that was the weirdest thing.

“We were supposed to use it for our alcohol, tea, juice, cola, sprite etc. all poured into the same cup.

“They weren’t even washed properly, I had to wash them myself with my own shower gel.”

But it wasn’t until Magdalena opened the bathroom door that she realized how dirty it was.

“I opened the door and I was like, oh wow,” she said.

“The bathroom was absolutely disgusting – just filthy.”

She called reception to complain, but when no one showed up the next day at noon, Magdalena decided to take matters into her own hands.

“I went out and bought bleach, sanitary towels and antibacterial gel,” she said.

“I cleaned the shower and the black stains in the bathroom but left out the floor because that’s not really my job.

“When someone finally came, they pulled a handful of black hair out of the shower and threw it in my bathroom trash.”

Magdalena said she tried to contact Loveholidays after three days to see if they could move to a new bungalow but “nothing happened”.

“I tried to reach them but it was impossible because they said to me, ‘Please contact our agent online’.”

“I don’t know where they got pictures of the horses or the new bungalows because our bungalow needed renovation.”

The couple were looking for flights home, but they were too expensive, so they looked for another hotel in Palma, the island’s capital.

“When we got to Palma I thought I’d been released from the I’m A Celebrity camp,” Magdalena said.

“We were sitting in a coffee shop holding a real coffee cup.

“It was at that point that I couldn’t take it anymore and I said to my husband Andrew, ‘I think the celebrities in the jungle have better conditions than us.’

One of the main reasons Magdalena decided to book the hotel was that there seemed to be a lot of outdoor activities.

“I looked at the pictures online and saw that we can go horseback riding, pictures of people playing tennis, miniature golf and the option to rent quad bikes,” she said.

A handful of black hair was pulled out of the shower


A handful of black hair was pulled out of the shower
Eventually, the couple found an affordable alternative, the Hotel Tal El Arenal, and packed their bags


Eventually, the couple found an affordable alternative, the Hotel Tal El Arenal, and packed their bags

But when they went looking for the horses, they learned that the animals had been sold in October.

“I know it’s down to two stars, but nothing they advertised is there anymore,” she said.

Eventually, the couple found an affordable alternative, the Hotel Tal El Arenal, and packed their bags.

“We managed to get out on Saturday morning,” she said.

“The hotel cost £425 for five nights.

“I went to reception and asked for a refund of the five unused nights but the only thing they refunded us was 11 euros tourist tax.”

Magdalena said the rest of her holiday was “really good”, with “great food” and “normal cups”.

“I have learned that times change. If you book cheap, it’s a disaster,” she said.

“I will not book a holiday with Loveholidays for the rest of my life.”

A company spokesman told PA Real Life: “We are sorry that Magdalena Brylinska-Beaton’s experience on this occasion did not meet your expectations.”

“While we always encourage our customers to raise any issues they may have with our dedicated team at the resort so we can take care of them, we have reviewed her case and issued a refund for the days she did not use the hotel. “

A spokesman on behalf of the hotel told PA Real Life: “Since Covid, customer expectations have been very high.

Karens don't like my revealing clothes, but fat girls are hot and here to stay
I wear size 8 below but size 24 above, my unique body shape causes so many problems

“It’s normal for a website to promote the best photos of a hotel.

“You have to consider value for money and this hotel is one of the cheapest.”

We pay for your stories and videos! Do you have a story or video for The Scottish Sun? Email us at scoop@thesun.co.uk or call 0141 420 5200

Russell Falcon

Russell Falcon is a USTimesPost U.S. News Reporter based in London. His focus is on U.S. politics and the environment. He has covered climate change extensively, as well as healthcare and crime. Russell Falcon joined USTimesPost in 2023 from the Daily Express and previously worked for Chemist and Druggist and the Jewish Chronicle. He is a graduate of Cambridge University. Languages: English. You can get in touch with me by emailing russellfalcon@ustimespost.com.

Related Articles

Back to top button