AMERICANS can expect to receive their $3,284 relief checks today.
That’s because Alaska pays out its Permanent Fund Dividend (PFD).
The amount of $3,284 is from 2022, which the state continues to send out.
Keep in mind that Alaska broadcasts the PFD, which gives a portion of the state’s oil revenues to residents.
In 2022, the amount was higher than previous years due to a $662 energy relief check attached and inflation skyrocketing.
But a certain group of Alaskans are entitled to cash today.
That could be you if you have submitted an application for the PFD 2022.
Applications are due on the 31st of each year.
In addition to completing an application, you must have resided in Alaska throughout 2021.
They also must not have been convicted of a crime or imprisoned that year.
If you are eligible and have not yet received your check for $3,284, you should check the status of your application, which can be done online through the state Treasury Department.
That’s because Alaska mails out $3,284 worth of checks to residents whose applications have an Eligible – Unpaid status.
If your application reads this message on April 12th, your money will be distributed today.
Another group with status Eligible – Not Paid on May 10th will receive their payments on May 18th.
CATCH THE TAX
However, those receiving a PFD need to be aware of a large tax catch that may come as a surprise to some.
The Internal Revenue Service said the $662 portion is not considered taxable because it is considered a relief payment.
However, the rest of the $2,622 will be.
So keep that in mind if you haven’t filed taxes yet.
If you received a relief payment, such as a payback, from your state in 2022, the IRS doesn’t consider it taxable—so you don’t have to report it.
MORE RELIEF IS COMING
If you live outside of Alaska, you may also receive a state payment.
For example, Georgia has approved an income tax refund of up to $500.
To qualify for this year’s rebate, you must have filed taxes in both 2021 and 2022 and be a resident of the state.
If you submit on or before April 18th, you can expect your money by July 1st.
Discounts begin to expire in May.
Elsewhere, New Mexico Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham has signed into law a major tax break package that offers residents up to $1,000 in rebates.
To be eligible, you must be over the age of 18 and not be claimed as a tax dependent.
More than 900,000 taxpayers are lined up for a payment, according to the governor’s office.
The discount distribution process begins in June.
For more cash you might be entitled to, here are the 12 states that offer up to $1,000 worth of payments to parents.
And see if you’re one of the millions who can claim up to $3,600 worth of Direct Payments.