The complete AIM Awards 2023 winners list, from Björk to Wet Leg

Björk, Wet Leg and RAYE were among the big winners at the 2023 AIM Independent Music Awards.

All winners were announced and celebrated at an “electrifying evening” at London’s Roundhouse on Tuesday (September 26).

Attendees were treated to live performances from P Money and Whiney, Laughta and Cassia.

British rapper Avelino, who won the Best Independent Album award in collaboration with Spotify, also took the stage to perform as part of hip-hop’s 50th anniversary celebrations.

The evening also marked Björk’s first personal appearance at an awards ceremony since 2012.

“The AIM Awards are always about more than just celebrating the nominees, winners and participants in the room,” said Silvia Montello, CEO of AIM. “AIM celebrates the legends, visionaries, innovators and all the creative talent who continue to ensure our UK’s vibrant independent music community is the envy of the world.”

Below is the full list of winners:

Best Independent Album in Collaboration with Spotify

(AIM Press)

Avelino – God save the streets (Other Music Records/OddChild Music) – WINNER

Kelela – Crow (Warp Records)

Little Simz – No thanks (Forever Living Originals)

Nova twins – Supernova (Marshall Records)

Obongjayar – Some nights I dream about doors (September recordings)

Oliver Sim – Disgusting bastard (Young)

RAYE- My 21st century blues (Human Resource)

Rina Sawayama – Hold the girl (Dirty Hit)

Shy girl – nymph (Because music)

Wu Lu – Loggerheads (Warp Records)

Best independent track in collaboration with Meta

(AIM Press)

Connie Constance – “Hurt You” (Play it again, Sam)

ENNY – “Charge It” (FAMM)

Four Tet – “Three Drums” (lyric recordings)

Makaya McCraven – “Dream Another” (XL recordings)

Overmono – “Good Lies” (XL recordings)

RAYE, 070 Shake – “Escapism” (Human Re Sources) – WINNER

Shygirl – “Slut” (Because Music)

Sudan Archives – “Selfish Soul” (Stones Throw Records)

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – “Spitting Off The Edge of The World” feat. Perfume Genius (Secretly Canadian)

Yves Tumor – “Echolalia” (Warp Records)

British independent breakthrough

(AIM Press)

Ezra Collective (Partisan Records)

I.Jordan (Ninja Tune)

Overmono (XL shots)

Shygirl (Because Music) – WINNER

Suki Waterhouse (Sub Pop)

Best Live Performer

(AIM Press)

Björk: (One Little Independent) – WINNER

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist

(AIM Press)

AntsLive (Payday Records, Brand Records)

John Summit (Off The Grid Records)

Surya Sen (Skint Records)

Vibe Chemistry (DnB Allstars Records)

Wet Leg (Domino Records) – WINNER

Best Independent EP/Mixtape in collaboration with BBC 1Xtra

(AIM Press)

Bellah – Adultsville (Base ‘N’ Rebulz X Marathon Music Group)

ENNY – We’re going again (FAMM) – WINNER

Jessica Winter – Limerance (Lucky number)

Saint Joshua – EP2 (Ditto music)


One To Watch in collaboration with BBC Music Introducing

(AIM Press)

Jessica Winter (lucky number)

Juice Menace (Supernature)



Master Peace (PMR)

Best creative campaign in collaboration with Able

(AIM Press)

Because Music (Shygirl – nymph)

Dirty Hit (Rina Sawayama – Hold the girl)

Human Resources (RAYE – My 21st century blues)

Ninja Tune (Young Dads – Hard Hard)

Partisan Records (Ezra Collective – Where I’m supposed to be) – WINNER

XL recordings (Yaeji – With a hammer)

Best Independent Remix

Sega Bodega Remix (One Little Independent) – Björk – “Ovuke (feat. Shygirl)”

Soulwax Remix (Deewee / Because Music) – Charlotte Adigéry & Bolis Pupul – “Cliche”

Nu:Tone Remix (Hospital Records) – GLXY – “Butterfly Effect (feat. Hugh Hardie & Visionobi)” – WINNER

Jamie XX Remix (Young) – Oliver Sim – “GMT”

Boys Noize (secretly Canadian) – Yeah Yeah Yeahs – “Wolf”

Best independent video in collaboration with Vevo

(AIM Press)

Ezra Collective – “No Confusion ft. Kojey Radical” (Partisan Records)

Kelela – “Enough For Love” (Warp Records)

Obongjayar – “I Wish It Was Me (Live)” (September Recordings)

RAYE, 070 Shake – “Escapism.” (Human Resources)


Excellent contribution to music in collaboration with Merlin

Stephen & David Dewaele – Soulwax / 2manydjs – WINNER (Because music / [PIAS])

Best Independent Label

Broken records

Originals living forever

Hospital records – WINNER

A little independent


Best boutique label

Chess club

Glasgow subway


Rough bones – WINNER

So Young Records

Music Entrepreneur of the Year

(AIM Press)

Alex Brees – Un:hurd

Caius Pawson – Young / Space – WINNER

Jess Kangalee – Good Energy PR

Keturah Cummings – slash

Yasin El Ashrafi – HQ Familia

Independent champion in collaboration with Downtown

Jaguar Bingham

house music – WINNER

Café OTO

Innovator Award in collaboration with Amazon Music

Dan Carey – WINNER

Diversity Champion

Charisse Beaumont – Black Lives in Music – WINNER

Emma Bowman

Emma Bowman is a USTimesPost U.S. News Reporter based in London. His focus is on U.S. politics and the environment. He has covered climate change extensively, as well as healthcare and crime. Emma Bowman joined USTimesPost in 2023 from the Daily Express and previously worked for Chemist and Druggist and the Jewish Chronicle. He is a graduate of Cambridge University. Languages: English. You can get in touch with me by emailing

Related Articles

Back to top button