A number of players have reported being banned from accounts containing one of their game libraries.
Once banned, the account and all games purchased with it will be deleted.
The problem occurs for people who have previously purchased games but are not currently actively playing them.
Some people have reported that they received an email from Ubisoft informing them that their Ubisoft accounts will be terminated soon.
If their account is closed, they will lose access to all of their Ubisoft games, including series like Assassin’s Creed and Far Cry.
Ubisoft’s gaming service was formerly called Uplay and worked similarly to Steam.
Players would need to download the Ubisoft Game Launcher, later renamed the Uplay Client, in order to play Ubisoft games on PC.
Uplay was renamed to Ubisoft Connect in October 2020 and all games were migrated to Ubisoft Connect.
Apparently some players don’t log into their Ubisoft accounts that often.
The change is now being felt by players and many are receiving emails that their games will be deleted soon.
While Ubisoft claims it won’t close accounts for at least four years, it’s obligated to close inactive accounts for privacy reasons.
This problem has been recurring in the past, but it seems that more people have noticed the problem lately.
Players are advised to log into their Ubisoft accounts regularly to avoid account closure.
Carefully check the email address associated with your Ubisoft account. If it’s an email address that you no longer use, be sure to change it in your account.
If you receive an email from Ubisoft, you have 30 days to respond before your account will be closed.
There is a link in the email that you must click to keep your account active.
This will unlock your account and your games will remain valid.
Written by Georgina Young on behalf of GOOD LUCK AND HAVE FUN.
All the latest gaming tips and tricks
Looking for tips and tricks for your favorite consoles and games? We are here for you…
Get all the news about PS5, Xbox and other video games here