WhatsApp’s latest privacy features include the ability to hide your online status

WhatsApp just rolled out several major privacy features, including the option to block online status, which was recently shown off in beta. TechCrunch has called. The goal is to make WhatsApp “as private and secure as conversations in person,” Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg said in a Facebook post.

With the new online presence control feature, you can send messages while appearing offline. This offers another layer of privacy over the ability to hide your “last seen” status from certain contacts, a feature introduced earlier this year.

You can control the function in detail and decide which contacts can see your online status and which cannot. There are no limits and you can switch people in and out at any time. The feature will roll out to all users on desktop and mobile later this month.

WhatsApp is also testing blocking screenshots for view-once messages, which disappear after viewing once. When this news was introduced last year, Meta said you should still be careful as you wouldn’t know if someone screened it. A new feature that will allow you to block such screenshots is currently being tested, but the company hopes to make it available to all users “soon”.

The recent change lets you leave groups privately without sending a bulk notification to everyone else that you’ve left – but group admins will still be notified. That should save some inconvenience when it rolls out to desktop and mobile apps later this month.

All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team independently from our parent company. Some of our stories contain affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may receive an affiliate commission.

https://www.engadget.com/whats-app-introduces-key-privacy-features-including-online-status-control-100529898.html?src=rss WhatsApp’s latest privacy features include the ability to hide your online status

Russell Falcon

USTimesPost.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@ustimespost.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button